Guest Bathroom: Vanity Update

I wanted to redo the guest bathroom to make it look and feel like the rest of the room, which has an Indian/Thai flare.  I previously posted about the inexpensive flooring I put in that has a old map/luggage feel to it, very travel-esqe 🙂

IMG_0720IMG_0844

IMG_0738IMG_0752

I removed the doors and primed with Kilz Premium Primer.  I had recently used this primer in the Master Bathroom on the walls, so I had some left over.   I was glad to be using it again in another bathroom.  For the finish coats, I used Rustoleum’s Painter’s Touch – Ultra Cover – Metallics Paint – Oil Rubbed Bronze.

IMG_0753

I took a $20 ceiling tile and cut it into strips.  This is actually harder then it looks, I wish had a larger scissors!  I didn’t trust myself for a straight cut with the razor blade.  I glued these on with the same Elmer’s Glue I used for the flooring.  I figured, since i had it out…might as well use it!

I re-assembled everything once it was dry and there you have it, a $30 vanity make-over!

IMG_1669

more to come on the rest of the bathroom make-over!

5 thoughts on “Guest Bathroom: Vanity Update

  1. Hello! My name is Katy and I’m the social media coordinator for KILZ brand products. We are happy to hear that KILZ Premium primer worked great to update your guest bathroom vanity. We would love for your to share your experience by writing a review. Visit the Premium product page and click “Write a Review” located at the top right hand corner of the page: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CC4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.kilz.com%2Fprimer%2Fv%2Findex.jsp%3Fvgnextoid%3Dd467079e24683210VgnVCM1000006b0910acRCRD&ei=0FU3UuGQHuH0iwLWoIG4BA&usg=AFQjCNHDt_ePvRp_m202JtrTG8QsvI_d4A&sig2=4mRZG-purWWXGvrXEHAncQ&bvm=bv.52164340,d.cGE
    We’d appreciate the feedback! Thanks!

  2. I love this treatment. I have a similiar vanity that I wanted to redo and this also matches my guest bathroom overall. One question; did you apply the tile on the doors without any small moulding around it or just it’s own edges? I will be going for the tile this weekend. Really nice job!!

  3. Hi Valerie,
    I did not apply any special moldings. I cut the plastic tile VERY carefully and it actually hangs over the designated panel just enough to not need any moldings. Let me know if you have any other questions, good luck! Can’t wait to see! It would also be beautiful with a white vanity and silver tile!

  4. I own a pair of scissors that I bought from Cutco, probably about 20 years ago. They cost me about $60.00 at the time but are the absolute strongest scissors I have and will cut through anything! I know they were expensive, but they continue to be my first choice to cut anything! Hope that’s helpful! I love the vanity, it is beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

