Filling the yard with flowers 2013

Grandma was in town this week and one of her missions was to fill the yard with flowers and help me plant all my annuals.

As you can tell we still need to mulch, but I refuse to do this until all of the helicopters have fallen from the maple trees!  This was a lesson I learned my first year.  I was so egar to put the mulch down and have the yard looking fabulous, that I didn’t realize the maple trees and their helicopters didn’t stop until early June!  UGH, it looked like my nice black mulch had a random mixture of light brown mixed into it!

IMG_0477 IMG_0480

We shopped at Home Depot, Walmart, and a local garden center to find the best plants and deals.  Walmart and Home Depot had some really good deals, some as low as .88 and .99 cents!  I purchased the ground at HOBO early in April during one of their sales.  As you can see Grandma…wine glass full, equals plant containers getting emptied 🙂

IMG_0483

Grandma did 99% of the planting while the little one and I made sure her wine glass was full and all of the empty containers were picked up in her mad dash around the yard.

IMG_0489

Electric Blower + Baby = great nap time!!  She loves to be outside and the loud noise is one of her favorites!!!  Plus she loves to be carried in the Ergo.

IMG_0494 IMG_0495 IMG_0497 IMG_0498 IMG_0499 IMG_0500

IMG_0494 IMG_0495

We have a wide variety of annuals and each of the pots are completely different.  Don’t be afraid to buy smaller less mature plants; with a little TLC and Miracle Grow, these should be overflowing by July.  I can’t wait until these fill out later in the season!

Have a great Memorial Day weekend!!

Leave a Reply

