Closet/Dressing Room: 2010-2013

When we first toured the house I thought this was an odd room; it was connected to the master bedroom AND had a door to the hallway.  I didn’t know what this room was going to be until I started planning out our home in my head…then it became my DREAM ROOM!!

I created this closet in June of 2010, but there’s been some recent changes due to our E-model of the master bathroom (post on this coming soon!!!). The bathroom was extended into the existing master closet, so the Hub-E needed to move his clothes in.  “Bummer” you might think, but it worked out well and I fold all of his sweaters and jeans so they look nice and neat like mine (yes, if you must know I’m THAT particular!)  I take great pride in having a fabulous looking closet at all times…my poor Hub-E!

2010:

IMG_0451

IMG_0450

IMG_0449

Parts & Pieces: 2010

Paint: Flat Black from Olympia: Lowe’s

Stoleman IKEA Closet System I had to paint all of the hardware and poles silver!  The month I decided I wanted this, IKEA discontinued the silver and replaced it with cream/white.  I was not a big fan of that, so I purchased everything and spray painted all the parts and pieces with Rustoluem: Metallic Silver.  The Hub-E cursed IKEA’s directions on installing this system!

Mirrored Table:  Pier 1 (you can repurpose and recreate this look with a lot of furniture, but I didn’t think about this until WAY after I got this table, more then likely I would’ve gotten something from a thrift shop and painted it. So this item was technically a splurge.)

Chandelier:  Overstock (less then $100)

Table Lamp & Large Mirror: Home Goods (the Lamp was on clearance & the mirror has a tiny scratch that you can’t even see – $60!)

Bust Form w/ Wedding Dresses:  This was my Mother’s and Great Grandmother’s wedding dress; it’s a vintage lace that unfortunately is falling apart since my mom had it on display herself for over 30 years, but it fits well within the room.  I added my wedding dress (the shorter one you can see in the picture below) in January 2012 after our New Years Eve 2011 Wedding 🙂

Black “tuffet”:  This was a random Walmart foot stool that I re-covered in black velvet fabric (Yes, I actually sit on this tuffet and do my makeup every morning.)

2013:

As I mentioned earlier we needed to add the Hub-E to the room.  The small portion I carved out for him is the actual original closet in the room.

IMG_0064

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Closet Kit from Home Depot:  Martha Stewart Closet in White.  Easily put together in one weekend by me and the Hub-E.

IMG_0055

I haven’t done a ton of changes since, BUT I did upgrade the shoe display.  This closed off the entrance to the hallway, so the only way you can now enter the room is through our master bathroom.  We kept the door for resale purposes, you can easily convert this back to a bedroom by closing off the door to the Master Bathroom and re-opening the door to the hallway.

IKEA Closet System: PAX Wardrobe frames 36″ & 29.5″, we used the standard shelves instead of the shoe shelves because I loved the look of straight across shelves.

IKEA Closet System: KOMPLEMENT shelf insert – which is the display in the middle (actually attached to the 36″ PAX.  I didn’t use nearly as many shelves as were in the package – I just wanted something that broke up the line in between the two side of the shelving)

IMG_0056

IMG_0065

IMG_0061 IMG_0293

Storing my makeup out and in crystal containers is the best way to see what you actually have.  Plus it’s girlie 🙂  You can find crystal bowls and glasses just about at any thrift store or Home Goods for $10-$20.  The large piece is a cupcake stand with cups on it to hold all the pencils and glosses, anything that was too small  for a bowl and needed to by more upright.

IMG_0058

Pintrest Inspiration:  Hanging Necklaces

IMG_0292

Pintrest Inspiration:  Noodles in my boots to keep them standing.

http://archive.feedblitz.com/352690/~3933316

IMG_0289

I store my purses on one of the shelves for easy access and visibility.

IMG_0290

As I mentioned, displaying our wedding dresses on bust forms is not the best way to preserve the dresses, but I love having them displayed in the room.

7 thoughts on “Closet/Dressing Room: 2010-2013

  1. If you wish to prepare your Dressing closet, take away everything from it and check out to cluster all the similar things that you’re oftentimes exploitation within the pills. For instances, attempt to place all sleeve shirts in pile, same for pants and alternative Dressings etc.

  2. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So nice to seek out any individual with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that is wanted on the web, somebody with just a little originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  3. Pingback: Master Bathroom: January 2013 | Emodel your home

  4. Pingback: Master Bathroom Details | Emodel your home

Leave a Reply

