Nursery: January 2013

Nursery: January 2013

I’m going a little out of order, but sine we are going to have the baby any day now, I wanted to get the nursery up and posted.

This was once our office/extra guest room.  We have decided not to find out what we are having so I went with a Vintage Travel Theme with Red/Tan, which was technically the preexisting decor, but I added the essentials to make it a nursery.

IMG_0007

IMG_0017

IMG_0015

Parts and Pieces:

Crib:  Purchased from Kohl’s.com (don’t ever shop Kohl’s unless you have a coupon, we happen to have a 30%, plus it was a huge sale.  We hung the mosiquto net over it, realizing we will have to take this down in a few months, but loved the look for now.)

Changing Table:  Home Decorators Outlet (I had purchased (2) of these  for our Master Bath remodel, but they were 5″ too wide.  I loved the look of them, so I have repurposed them in other rooms of the house.  We attached a changing pad to the top and anchored it to the wall as well.)

Wicker Rocker:  I got this as a gift from my parents.  This is one of the rockers my Dad used to read to us in, so it has a bit of sentimental value.  My Dad spray painted it for me, since I wasn’t able to  at the time, due to the little one growing inside of me 🙂 Spray Painted with: Rust-oleum Metallic Vintage Copper

Book Shelf:  Lowe’s (my husband and dad figured out a way to anchor it to the wall on an angle.  I didn’t like the way it look off to either side.)

Vintage Suitcases:  Found these at a visual sale years ago and they have been used for all sorts of my decor.  Side tables, photo book holders, and now as a stuffed animal holder and side table for nursing.

We didn’t do a ton to this room as far as changing the look, but all the furniture was changed as well as the purpose 😉  We figured when he or she is old enough to have interests we will change it to whatever their heart desires, but until then, it’s mommy and daddy’s taste in decor.

Leave a Reply

